At the destruction of the island in 1824 the town was burned. Few historical sites are left to allow a visitor to admire.
Remnants of habitation before 1824 that testify the architecture of the times is the complex of ruins that remain in Kavos, northeast of the port, which are houses of the fighters Argyris and Giannaris. Also preserved the home of Admiral Apostoli.
Next to the sea, not far away from the village there is Spitalia (from the word hospital). There was old quarantine where returning the sailors from the trips had to stay there in case there were carrying disease. Only when it was proved their health was allowed them to go to their families. Consists of 5 stone rooms, plain, with vaulted roofs and fireplace in each one. In 1976 the Greek National Tourism Organization converted the quarantine, under the direction of architect Aris Konstantinidis, into a restaurant.
The Church of the Transfiguration of the Saviour was built before 1770. It was used for student halls. Its temple remains until today the island's Cathedral.
The Church of St. Nicholas began to be built by 1785. Years of slavery, but also years when the shipping of Psara began to develop. The residents brought the marbles from Chios and other Aegean islands, and from far away, from Malta and Thessaly. The length of the temple is 28 meters, width 14 and reaches 24 meters in height. As it concerns the lighting, it was designed 67 windows and 8 doors. Currently there are 51 and 7 respectively. The utensils of the church, all valuable offerings same as sacred vessels which had been donated by Varvakis, all were despoiled at the destruction of the island in 1824. Only the holy gospel survives until today.
In the year Kanaris was born (1793), the temple was completed. It was destroyed in 1824 and renovated in 1863 when after destroying the residents began return to their island.
Palaiokastro, the Black Ridge of Psara: The Black Ridge of Psara located at the southern edge of the Palaiokastro peninsula, surrounding the harbor on the west side. At Palaiokastro there are two churches in one building, which are dedicated to St. Anne and St. John the Baptist. During the revolution, the Psarian cannons placed on the Black Ridge. The Black Ridge went down in history for the resistance of the 120 defenders in 1824 and their self-sacrifice by being blown up when they saw that their fight was hopeless. Today a few walls and a rock, in the place of gunpowder warehouse, left by the past and one simple monument to honor those heroes.
The Monastery of the Virgin Mary: it is dedicated to the Assumption of Mary. Located 9km from the center of the island. The history of the monastery is not precisely known. It is calculated that was built in 1780 at a position that previously existed a small chapel. The architect of the church was by Roumeli and built it similar to the temples of the Holy Mountain (Athos). During the destruction of the island the Turkish set fire to destroy and to plunder it. Nevertheless, the monastery was saved temporarily thanks to the bees that friars throw to the enemy. In the library of the monastery are preserved rare manuscripts and hieratic books printed in Venice and Moscow. There was also a picture of the Assumption signed by Dominicos Theotokopoulos (El Greco). The Psarians who escaped the destruction wanted to save the picture and transferred it to Syros, where stay till today to the church of the Assumption of the Virgin.
The house of the Psarian Hero Constantinos Kanaris were a little lower of the church of St. Nicholas. Today the defender’s bust indicates the location of the house.
Out of the village in Archontiki it is worth visiting the Mycenaean tombs which have been revealed by Prehistoric and Classical Antiquities Service.
Daskalio is a rocky area south of Archontiki. It was named after “daskalos” which means teacher in greek, because in the old days there was a school that had the opportunity to go almost exclusively the lieges (archontes in greek). Daskalio was the last stronghold that “fell” to the Turkish during the destruction, as its defenders died fighting after several days.
Opposite, there is a small island named St. Nicholaki. It was named after the church of St. Nicholas which is there. The entire island, it is “soaked” with the blood of Psarian defenders. Traces of bloody body on the floor of the church distinguished faintly until today.
Distinctive feature of Psara is the 67 chapels. These small ornaments of the island belong to the parish but are maintained by the residents as each family has under its care a chapel. The temple which adorns Zoodochos Pigi monastery, that has painted by G. Louros from Chios, using designs from embroidery of Psarian housewives, features exquisite beauty. He has edited the wall paintings of the monastery and the church of St. Thymios.